What are the Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, drivers are not required to carry auto insurance unless they're convicted after being guilty of certain violations.
According to state laws, a basic auto insurance policy must include the liability coverage of at least $25,000 per person to cover third-party claims and lawsuits regarding bodily injury.
That policy must provide liability coverage of $50,000 per accident to cover bodily injuries and $25,000 to cover property damage.
The PIP (Personal Injury Protection) coverage, which is also called medical payments coverage, must be at least $1,000. UIM/UM (Uninsured or Underinsured) Motorist coverage should be equal to the liability coverage for bodily injuries.
|Auto Insurance Coverage||Minimum Required Limits in New Hampshire|
|Liability Coverage for Third-Party Bodily Injuries||$25000 per person or $50000 per accident|
|Liability Coverage for Third-Party Property Damage||$25000 per accident|
|PIP or Medical Payments Coverage||$1000 per person|
|UIM/UM Motorist Coverage||$25000 per person or $50000 per accident|
• Liability Coverage for Third-Party Bodily injuries (BI Liability Coverage)
BI (Bodily Injury) coverage covers the medical bills and treatment expenses of injuries sustained by a third party when you're at fault in an auto accident.
In New Hampshire, Your BI coverage is up to $25000 per injured person and $50000 per auto accident.
BI Liability coverage reimburses you for your lawyer’s fees as well if the injured person files a lawsuit against you.
• Liability Coverage for Third-Party Property Damage (PD Liability Coverage)
PD Liability coverage helps you pay the repair, restoration, or replacement cost of a third-party property that gets injured following an accident in which you're at fault.
In New Hampshire, the minimum PD Liability coverage is up to $25000 per accident.
• PIP (Personal Injury Protection) or Medical Payments Coverage
PIP Coverage pays medical bills and treatment expenses if you, your passengers, or any family member riding with you in your insured car gets injured as a result of an auto accident, regardless of fault.
In North Hampshire, the minimum PIP coverage is up to $1000. You have the choice to file a claim for your medical expenses stemming from an auto accident either from your NH Health Insurance Plan or MedPay. Your health insurer is legally bound to process your claim if the injuries are due to an auto accident.
• UIM/UM Motorist Coverage
UIM/UM coverage covers your medical expense if you get injured as a result of an auto accident caused by a driver who is uninsured or doesn’t carry enough insurance to pay for your losses.
In North Hampshire, Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist coverage is the same as liability coverage for third-party injuries but can be raised to meet your specific coverage needs.